Happiness is…

In September I wrote a post about feeling relaxed. I reread that post this evening and it struck me just how lucky I am that I am able to squeeze pleasure from some very simple things. 

Earlier today I was reading a piece written on the One Good Thing by Jillee blog about simple ways to make life happier. Click here to read her suggestions.

After reading Jillee’s list I, very naturally, began to think about what makes me happy. Here are some of the things that came to mind:

Hearing my grandson say “It’s my Nana”. I get such a thrill when he says ‘my’!

Having a cup of milky coffee with ‘skin’ on it. I know lots of people will find that disgusting  but I really enjoy the skin on hot milk.

Doing something for someone else on the spur of the moment.

When someone in the queue at the checkout in the supermarket allows me to go in front of them because I have fewer items.

When someone compliments me and I am able to accept that they actually mean what they say.

Having time alone out of choice.

A cool day in summer.

A beautiful sunrise or sunset.

Having the luxury of time to do things I like to do.

Having people whom I love and who love me.

Lots of vinegar on chips.


Obviously, (well at least I hope it’s obvious) the above are not in order of importance or preference they are simply in the order that my iPad allowed me to put them in!



Leave a Reply

