Spreading the Word About Buttons

A Selection of Buttons made by me, including
Crosswheels, Wrapped, Shirtlace and Bird’s Eye


Since the problem with my arm began several weeks ago I have been quite restricted as to what activities I am able to do without exacerbating the pain. I keep discovering things that are too painful to do at the moment and was really disappointed that using my sewing machine was one such.

I am still able to hand sew so when the members of my craft group said they would like to make Dorset buttons I was pleased to agree. I have enjoyed making buttons from my first attempt.

My Little Sis, Janet, (she’s not really my sister but when we are together people always think that we are sisters because of how well we get on – as for why she’s the little one, well, that’s another story!) had been on a workshop to learn about making buttons several years ago. She had talked to me about it afterwards but for some reason the subject didn’t really grab me. A couple of years ago, however, I attended a really enjoyable Creative Textiles course run by Workers’ Educational Association during which we made Dorset Buttons. That was it, I was hooked (button hooked?!?).

My interest has widened to include other buttons and passementerie, mainly through watching Gina Barrett of Gina B Silkworks on Create and Craft TV. I have been lucky enough to have been given Gina’s DVDs: Making Buttons and Making More Buttons. Button-making and passementerie are good crafts for me as there are so many different things to try. I am not very good at sticking to one thing – I attempt something then, instead of perfecting the technique, I move on to something else. With passementerie, I can move to the next thing but still be doing passementerie as there is so much of it!

Back to the craft group (sorry for getting distracted!)… On Friday afternoon of last week I showed the members how to make a Dorset crosswheel button. They were all very interested in making the buttons. I think crafters like how adaptable the buttons are – they can be used as fasteners or embellishments on clothing, made into jewellery, used on handmade cards and so much more.

Due to the relaxed and very social nature of our group, none of us managed to complete our buttons. However, everyone took their button home with ‘strict’ instructions (well, I AM bossy!) to bring it back, completed, to the next meeting.

If you are interested in making buttons, Gina’s website is a good place to start. Her DVDs are very easy to follow. There are, of course, other people making and selling wrapped and needlework buttons or offering courses in button-making.

Large Wrapped Button using narrow
satin ribbon on a metal bangle

**Note: I have not been paid, sponsored or received any inducement in relation to people or products mentioned above.**

2 thoughts on “Spreading the Word About Buttons

Leave a Reply

