A Review of April

Lily's Quilts
 

I have been reading about Fresh Sewing Day on Lily’s Quilts and it prompted me to do a review of what I did during April.

 
The month began with a day out with Elizabeth when we went to Farfield Mill, near Sedbergh, to see a glorious quilt exhibition and called in at Beckside Yarns in Clapham to feast our eyes on their selection of yarns. At Beckside Yarns I bought two packs of a selection of hand-dyed items. I have no idea what I shall use them for but I will enjoy looking at them whilst I ponder on it!
 
The following day I attended a basket making workshop with other members of the Friday afternoon craft group. It was a thoroughly enjoyable day and we were all able to take home a completed (or, nearly completed) basket. I was quite pleased with how mine turned out.

During April I was knitting a bag for Alison, which was to be felted in the washing machine. I was using Debbie Bliss Donegal Luxury Tweed Chunky which has an interesting look to it. I have finished knitting the bag and have felted it but have yet to complete its construction. I shall write further about it once I have handed it to Alison.

Mid-month, on the fifteenth, was the start of Parkinson’s Awareness Week. It was also when we booked to go on holiday – leaving on 18 April. Unfortunately the weather had other ideas and our departure was delayed by 24 hours. The delay gave me the chance to make a zip-top bag that I had been meaning to construct. It was only the second time I had ever inserted a zip but I surprised myself at how well I managed!
 
During the month I continued crocheting blocks for blankets. Some blocks will be used in comfort blankets which I give to various charities, whilst I am planning to use certain others in a blanket for me. If you take a peek at the ‘Lovely Things’ page here on my blog you will see a picture of a gorgeous multicoloured blanket which has been my inspiration for this particular project.
 
I also began working on two other projects during April, both of which I have had in mind for some time. The first is making a double-sided silk scarf embellished with hand-embroidery. The second project is only partly formed in my imagination but involves hexagons made from some small samples of Cath Kidston fabric that I was given in one of her shops. I am interested to see what I end up making them into!
 
I am linking this review with the Fresh Sewing Day on Lily’s Quilts and also the Small Blog Meet. If you have found my blog through either of those I hope you like what you see and that you will pop by again.
 
Have an enjoyable month of crafting! You never know, the weather may be so good that it makes you think summer is coming!
  
Lily's Quilts
 
 N.B. Sorry, but the buttons in this post do not link to Lily’s Quilts as I don’t know how to set that up – yet!
N.B. [again!] Take no notice of the previous N.B., Lynne from Lily’s Quilts very kindly helped me and now it’s sorted! Yippee! That’s another thing I know how to do.
2 thoughts on “A Review of April

  1. popping by from Lily's quilts blog meet.
    Looks like you've had a much more productive month then me!
    And I wouldn't worry I had loads of fun getting the buttons to work too. Mine kept putting themselves in boxes. oops. lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

