Artist’s Trading Cards

Very Berry Handmade



No, I didn’t know what they were, either, until I read about a swap that Ali at Very Berry Handmade is hosting. Once I had read her blog post I realised that I had been given one a while back by someone whom I had asked if I might have her email address.

Artist’s Trading Cards [ATCs] are similar to the old cigarette cards. Oh crumbs, I’ve just realised hat there are probably oodles of people who don’t know what they are, either! I don’t know if they are always the same size but for this swap Ali has said that our card must measure 2.5″ x 3.5″ [6.4cm x 8.9cm] in either portrait or landscape orientation. For this swap they must be predominantly textile and we can use any techniques that we fancy. As the theme is ‘Something New’ it could be that I try a new technique, which is something Ali mentioned in one of her posts about the swap.

Apart from a fabric swap between myself and an online friend, this is the first swap I have taken part in. Ali and I agreed that it is probably a good starting point for me, particularly as I can easily become overwhelmed by the reality of doing something I have planned.

I have a few ideas for my ATC but they are vague at the moment. I am hoping that real inspiration will strike me soon and that I shall finish making the card long before the date for posting. However, from experience, I know that inspiration doesn’t usually come to me until the last minute which means, of course, that I have to rush to make it! I will try to remember to keep you informed as to progress. The card must be posted between 3 and 8 June. Wish me luck! Please!

If you would like to see some ATCs, you will find some here.

Leave a Reply

