Less Than 24 Hours Until I Leave!

As I begin writing this post the time is 06.45 on Thursday 27 June. There are less than 24 hours until I leave these familiar surroundings and embark on the journey of a lifetime. 

No. It’s more momentous than that. 

Calling it ‘the journey of a lifetime’ implies that it is one that is likely to be undertaken by most, if not all, people – and that just isn’t the case. I don’t know how many people, each year, experience a situation like this but I’m sure that it would be a microscopic percentage of the population. I am thinking of people who discover, or are discovered by, family members whom they had never even known existed, rather than being reunited with long-lost relations.

I apologise if this page looks a bit blurred. I am sitting here with tears in my eyes, feeling totally swamped by emotion, and the tears keep falling out of my eyes. Maybe it’s a good thing that they are falling now – after all, I don’t want to be a blubbering wreck when I first meet my brother and younger sister!

Like everyone else, my life has been full of ups and downs, some of which have been extreme. One of the periods of joy was in late June and early July 2000 – a two-week period of lightheartedness, the like of which I had never previously known existed. It ended abruptly when my husband Johnnie’s health deteriorated dramatically, showing me that this was the beginning of his end. An absolutely heartbreaking period. However, I am a firm believer that you cannot appreciate the highs if you haven’t had the lows, so something good is coming from that pain.

I am certain that my emotions will be all over the place in the coming days but, do you know what? That’s OK because I shall be with family.

Leave a Reply

