The Last Bit of Katoomba

When Nick and I had finished our tour of duty as tourists, he drove us to his mother’s home. Our visit, or, more specifically MY visit, had the potential to be awkward and/or uncomfortable so if any of the three of us were suffering from nerves it was entirely   understandable.

Nancy welcomed me when Nick introduced us. When he was out of the room she apologised to me but I assured her that, in my view, there was no need to apologise.

The three of us sat in the living room and I listened while Nancy and Nick reminisced. I have no memories of my father and this was an opportunity to hear about him and what he was like – I had no intention of wasting that opportunity.

Nancy had put out some photographs of Luigi, Min, Nick and herself for me to look at and which she said I could keep. Also, whilst I was there, she brought out some papers relating to Luigi, plus his wallet. Touching his wallet was a strange experience – not something I could or even would put into into words. Nick said he would like to have the originals of the papers. I was totally fine about it and happy to agree. As far as I am concerned, Luigi was Min and Nick’s father, he wasn’t enough of a father of mine to entitle me to keep any of his belongings. It was arranged between Nick and me that he would make a full set of copies of all the papers and photographs for Maria and for me.

The three of us went to a local Chinese restaurant for dinner. I learned more about Luigi during the meal. Some of it makes for unpleasant listening but, although it is very painful at times, I would much rather hear it than not.

After dinner, we delivered Nancy home and then Nick drove back to Echo Point so that I could see the stars. Oh, and what a night to look at the starts – we could see the cloud of the Milky Way with our bare eyes! It was stunning! Nick pointed out which stars make up the Southern Cross and then explained how to navigate by the stars in the southern hemisphere. So, that is what today’s lesson is all about…

1.    Find the four stars of the Southern Cross – you can only see the Southern Cross in the southern hemisphere.

2.    Measure the distance between those stars at the top and bottom and multiply by a factor of four. 

3.    Use that new length to indicate how far below the Cross your gaze should be. 

4.    Look to your heart’s intent.

Unfortunately I could not take any photographs as there was too little light and I don’t yet understand my camera enough to know if it could take a good photograph.

Standing at Echo Point in Katoomba with my brother, watching the stars, reminded me of a recipe that I first saw several years ago – Star Gazey Pie!




Leave a Reply

