Summer’s Last Blaze of Glory

Finally you are able to see Summer’s Last Blaze of Glory. Well, you have seen the reverse in the above photograph!

The theme of the second Very Berry Handmade Textile ATC Swap was “Autumn”. Almost immediately the theme was announced I knew what I wanted my design to be. When I get an idea so quickly I tend to go with it and I don’t usually deviate much from the original idea. The same happens if I am writing. I am useless at editing my work as what I write first time around says what I want to say – any amendments weaken the original message. I don’t mean that to sound conceited, it is simply that if I don’t get it right the first time then I am unlikely to get it right at all.

So, what is this wonderful design? Well, it’s not wonderful, for starters, but I was pleased with the concept and not too disappointed with my execution of it.

Summer’s Last Blaze of Glory –
ATC made by Bossymamma

My design is of an autumn bonfire (the Blaze) burning the leaves (the Glory) which have fallen from the trees (the Last of the Summer).

The wood at the base of the bonfire is created using backstitch and three strands of embroidery thread in various shades of brown. The leaves have been cut by hand from a selection of fabrics in shades of red, orange, yellow, brown and green. I used organza and silk georgette in shades of red, orange, yellow and purple for the flames and highlighted the flames with simple red running stitch. Finally, I needle-felted a few strands of merino wool tops in greys and browns to create the smoke. The background is a piece of non-stretch fabric which is like a cross between a knit fabric and calico. (I don’t know how else to describe it, I’m afraid! It comes from a huge piece which I was given free from a mill shop when I was buying some fabrics. I have used it for several projects and it is marvellous!

I backed the picture with card and a piece of calico and stitched around the edges using a zig-zag stitch. I then labelled it as shown at the top of this post, wrapped it for Geraldine and posted it.



Now I have to wait for my ATC to arrive!

Leave a Reply

