If You Want To Get Ahead…

You’ve heard that saying? You know the one. “If you want to get ahead, get a hat”? Well, since posting the parcels to LILY, I have gone one step further and knitted a hat. Actually, I have knitted more than one. I hasten to add that I did not make the hat that I am modelling so beautifully (!!!) in the photograph above.

I have been busily knitting hats for the charity Priateli. There is a chap called John (I don’t know his surname) who lives in Rossendale, Lancashire and who does a lot of work for Priateli. The charity works in Bulgaria helping vulnerable people and a group of charity knitters that I belong to make and donate items to them.

Our group, the Friendly Elks (i.e. Friendly East Lancashire Knitters) are having a meeting later today and I thought I ought to try to do some catching up. I haven’t managed to attend a meeting since before my trip to Australia so I had better not turn up empty handed! Up until last week I had been furiously knitting items for Syrian refugees. However, since posting my two parcels of goodies to Turkey, I have been able to concentrate on knitting some bits for Priateli.

I have continued to use ends of balls and various other bits and pieces for this knitting. It is amazing how you can use strange mixtures of colour and texture but they still turn out OK.

I don’t use a pattern when I knit a hat. In fact, I don’t remember ever having used a pattern to knit a hat. I simply use guess work. Generally I use two or more strands of yarn so that (1) the hat is quick to knit, and (2) the colours can be blended more successfully.


My Super Simple Hat
When I begin knitting a hat, I cast on stitches until I think it looks a reasonable width. It doesn’t matter what size I knit as the hats are distributed amongst children of all ages. I work something like six or eight rows of rib.
On the following row I knit across the stitches, making an extra stitch in every seventh stitch. (This gives the hat a better shape.)
I work in stocking stitch until the work is the right sort of depth to fit the head of the age of child the hat is being made for. At the end of that section of stocking stitch I begin decreasing. I usually start by knitting two stitches together on every sixth stitch along the entire row. On every successive row, keeping stocking stitch pattern correct, continue decreasing as follows: decrease stitches by working 5 stitches between each decrease along the entire row, then 4 stitches between, then 3, then 2, one. At that point work the entire row by knitting two stitches together until two or three stitches remain.
Three stitches: slip one, knit two together, pass slip stitch over. Two stitches: knit the last two together and tie the end. Sew along the side seam. Voila! One completed hat.

Leave a Reply

