The Perfect Preparation for Christmas

Some modern architecture is simply an eyesore, a bizarre self-indulgence on the part of the architect, but some, like the new Museum of Transport in Glasgow, is breathtaking. The view above is of the side of the building facing the River Clyde. The picture below shows an aerial view of the building:

Isn’t it stunning? I love it. In my opinion it is a beautiful building.

OK. So what has this to do with Christmas? I’ll tell you. Peter and I have just spent a few days in Scotland. We booked a ridiculously cheap coach trip to visit Glasgow, Loch Lomond and Edinburgh. We like to take an occasional trip such as this, purely and simply to recharge our batteries, and, my goodness, this one certainly did that. I could feel the tension ebbing away and the relaxation gently taking its place. Sheer bliss!

We travelled up to Scotland on Monday and returned on Friday. There were excursions arranged for each of the intervening days. On our trip to Glasgow, our driver offered to take those who were interested to the new Museum of Transport and then drop them off in the city afterwards. We opted to do that. I enjoyed the visit to the museum, except 
that part when I saw toys that my sons played with were on display as exhibits. Talk about feeling old!

In the city we visited the Willow Tea Rooms then wandered through the city streets. We heard the sound of drums and decided to be nosey and see what it was. Wow! Wow! Wow!

The drumming was coming from an open-air performance by Clanadonia. There were four drummers and one chap playing the bagpipes. Now, I’m not particularly fond of the bagpipes but I love drumming and the whole thing sounded terrific. It was an amazing sound.

Wednesday was a very lazy day. We were driven to Loch Lomond and around that area, then back to the hotel. We were perfectly happy doing nothing much.


Thursday saw us travelling to Edinburgh, one of my favourite cities. However, we didn’t have any time for sightseeing as Peter’s brother picked us up and took us to his home, about fifteen minutes’ drive from the city centre. There we had a delicious lunch and spent a relaxed few hours with Peter’s brother, sister-in-law and two of his niecelets (Peter’s word, not mine!), before being driven back into the city to join the coach for the return journey to our hotel, laden with gifts. A lovely day! (I must offer humble apologies to Marianne and John that we did not have time to include a visit to them. We are both very sorry and will try to come and see you soon.)

Friday saw our return home, still feeling relaxed. I wonder how long that feeling will last! But, in the meantime, this week has been the perfect preparation for the Christmas period.



4 thoughts on “The Perfect Preparation for Christmas

  1. Very recognisable your blog post. The bit about the architecture did remind me of a book of Bill Bryson I've been reading lately. He describes a street called The Highway (in London) as follows: “It was like being in the midst of an ugly building competition. For the better part of a decade, architects had been arriving in the area and saying, 'You think THAT'S bad? Wait'll you see what I can do.'”
    And the experience you had in the museum with the toys of your son, I had the same thing 2 years ago in a museum in Holland. Sweets I ate when I was a child, were sold in a museum as old-Dutch-Sweets. Like you said: it suddenly hit me then that I was (am!) getting old!

    Like

  2. I know, I think so as well. But one of the signs of getting old is probable thinking like that: the doctors used to be younger, the teachers used to be younger, etcetera. Lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

