The Start of a New Year

I have been particularly interested in celebrating New Year – after all, it’s just one day following another day, isn’t it? However, for some reason, here at the beginning of 2014 I feel that I should be setting some goals for myself. Now, I’m quite keen on challenging myself with things, but goals are a completely different matter. I usually shy well away from goals – they are a bit too confrontational for me. Challenges are good because they are more vague – daring oneself to go in a particular direction.

So, here we are, and I have been thinking about goals. Hmmm. Trouble is, I don’t know what goals to set. Isn’t that pathetic?

Goal Number 1
I think this should be about my craft stashes. I have a l-o-t of fabric and really need to use some of it to clear some space so, my first goal will be to clear some of each of my stashes so that each is smaller at the end of 2014 than it is now. I don’t think I am brave enough to quantify this one!

Goal Number 2
I need to be more organised about what projects I am working on. I was talking to someone the other day about my WIPs and realised that I have eight, yes eight, in the vicinity of my armchair! Even I am embarrassed to have that many! In my defence, they are not all sewing-related, they include knitting and crochet.

Goal Number 3
This one is about family life. I’m not going to say much about it but it has something to do with being less bossy.

Goal Number 4
Read more books. I have really lost the habit of reading. It’s a shame as I enjoy reading. To encourage me to I am taking part in the 52 Books in 52 Weeks Challenge, started by Fiona of The Sewing Directory. I am unlikely to achieve a total of 52 books but I hope I will read more than I have done in recent months.

Goal Number 5
Don’t forget to stop and smell the roses.

I think I have probably been too easy on myself with these goals, but at least it gives me a chance to achieve them!

2 thoughts on “The Start of a New Year

Leave a Reply

