Painterly Patches Update

Going to visit Little Sis meant that I missed two sessions of the WEA Painterly Patches course at Farnworth UCAN. In addition, I didn’t have much chance to work on my crazy patchwork so my project is taking a longer time that I had anticipated. On the plus side, when I went to the course on Friday I could see a huge amount of progress in the work of the other participants.

Ann cutting out interfacings

Ann (without an ‘e’) has been busy dressmaking. She had bought a small sewing machine but it had been causing her difficulties so she returned it to the shop and bought another and so she is now ‘cooking on gas’! (Crikey, where did I dig up that phrase?) She was wearing a skirt she had made for herself in a pretty flowery fabric and offered me the pieces that were left over. I, of course, accepted. I asked her if she wanted to donate it to UCAN but she said she would like me to have it. With her agreement, I gave the smaller piece to UCAN and shared the larger piece with Anne (with an ‘e’).

Applique, embroidery and beading on Naomi

Talking of Anne (with an ‘e’), her piece of work, called ‘Naomi’ is really coming on, as you can see above, as is Diane’s owl (below).

Diane’s owl is full of character
 Colin carefully crocheting
Colin’s crocheting is coming along well. He seems to have really settled into it well. 

Jamilla has finished her cushion. I really like the way she uses colour – there’s something about the way she puts colours together that makes them speak out. I can’t quite put my finger on it.

Beautiful colours on Jamila’s cushion


Tracy kindly sent me these two photographs of her completed cushion. She always seems to be able to come up with ideas and put them into practice.

The front of Tracy’s cushion

And the other side!


Erica is currently crocheting a blanket which she said she will be giving me to send to help Syrians. During the class she was cutting out this pretty fabric – but I can’t remember what it is for! Oops!

Erica cutting out fabric

And, finally, here is Dianne’s pretty apron.

Dianne’s Appliqued Apron

I haven’t shown my crazy patchwork project as progress is very slow at the moment – my time is being spent working on my ATC for the Very Berry Handmade swap. More about that soon.

2 thoughts on “Painterly Patches Update

  1. It must be so nice to come all together and work on your projects alongside, share tips, techniques and even bits and pieces of fabric. What a busy, productive and creative group! Looking forward to your ATC.

    Like

Leave a Reply

