Hillarys Blinds Country Crafts Competition

My sewing project folder


A few weeks ago I saw online that Hillarys Blinds were giving away a yard of fabric to craft bloggers. The idea was that the bloggers would design and make an item and then blog about it, mentioning the Hillarys Blinds Country Craft Competition.

Well, you know what I’m like! Mention ‘free fabric’ and I’m there! Sign up for something? Yep, I’m your girl! I’m still jumping in without thinking!


I knew immediately what I wanted to make with the fabric. About three years ago I went to a couple of meetings of a group called Textile Without Limits [a contemporary quilting group which is part of The Quilters Guild. At one of the meetings I saw that a couple of people had special folders/wallets for their work and I thought what a good idea they were. Unfortunately I didn’t get a chance to look at them closely but the idea really took my fancy. I had never managed to get around to making such a folder but knew that that was what I was going to do with the lovely Wild Poppies from Hillarys Blinds.

Inside the back cover of the
sewing project folder

I sat down with my pad and began to sketch what I wanted to make and make notes about what features it should have.

Inside the back cover again, showing where
the wax and tailor’s chalk slide in


The project evolved during the making of it. Some stages could have been better timed and I should, perhaps, have given some areas more thought. No matter, I am pleased with my resulting project folder.

The detachable pincushion


I have included a needle case, scissor keep, tape measure grip, detachable pincushion, pockets for wax and tailor’s chalk and a large flap pocket.

If you fancy having a go at making one the step-by-step tutorial will be published on here tomorrow evening [Thursday 27 March 2014].

Thank you to Hillarys Blinds for the fabric and the chance to enter the competition. I hope you will all wish me luck!

Inside the front cover of the
sewing project folder

10 thoughts on “Hillarys Blinds Country Crafts Competition

  1. Beautiful fabric! I like the sewing project folder you made, Dina. It includes everything you might need. Sewing folders are very practical and useful. I call mine “My Stitching Companion” 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

