A Knitting Goal for 2014 Achieved

Hand knitted children’s socks

You know how at New Year you set yourself goals or you think up New Year’s Resolutions that it is unlikely you will even remember in a week’s time? Yes? Well, I don’t tend to do that. I am rather boring (hard to believe, I know! Ha ha ha!) because I have the attitude that the first day of January is just another day. I can’t be bothered with all the fuss.

I don’t know why, but this year was a little different. Nothing too major, you understand, I’m far too lazy to change a lot. This year I decided to set a few goals relating to the crafts that I do. I had noticed that I have a tendency not to push myself to try more when I knit so thought I would try to remedy that.

Socks hand knitted in Rico Superba Print

In order to challenge myself I decided that 2014 would be the year that I learned how to knit socks.

My goal: to knit socks

I went to a workshop to learn how to knit socks but didn’t get on terribly well. That was due to me being unable to concentrate properly, partly because one person there talked incessantly. At the end of the day I was quite deflated by the little I had achieved.

Two socks! A pair!

Enter my friend, Elizabeth, sock knitter extraordinaire, who offered to give me one-to-one tuition on making socks. I can’t tell you how pleased and grateful I was, and still am.

For various reasons we left the sock knitting lessons for a few weeks, starting a couple of weeks ago at Red Bank Knitting Group. We each knitted the same size of sock, doing all the shapings and fiddly bits when we met at groups. In that way I was able to complete my first sock last Monday. Since then I have knitted the second sock at home so that I now have… a pair of socks. The first pair of socks I have ever knitted! One of my knitting goals for 2014 achieved!

Ta da!

My First Pair of Socks!


8 thoughts on “A Knitting Goal for 2014 Achieved

  1. Well done. I like the colours as well. I've never been tempted to knit socks. But I used to say that about squares and I have just finished my first squares blanket. So, who knows what the future has in store?

    Like

  2. Congratulations on achieving your goal! I've never had the slightest interest in wishing to knit sox. (Maybe our mild winter has influenced that) I knit each of my kids, and my husband, at least one article each and then rested on my laurels! The fact that one of the pullovers was fairisle made me think that I had proved my point!
    I'm a leftie, and my mother said it was impossible for me to knit or crochet (to her standards) So I did it MY WAY!

    Like

  3. Congratulations, Dina, on your first ever pair of socks and achieving your goal for 2014! Your pair of socks is absolutely fantastic! This wool is great for socks. I am going to repeat myself, but your socks bring sweet memories of my Mum and my Grandma and socks they knitted for me when I was little. They were always the warmest, the most comfortable and the most colourful socks ever. Hand knitted socks are the best! Well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

