Festival of Quilts 2014

A couple of weeks ago I was lucky enough to win two tickets to this year’s Festival of Quilts at the NEC in Birmingham, courtesy of Quilt Direct. I invited my friend Val to come with me on Thursday, the opening day. I then discovered that some members of the online group, Be Creative, had arranged to meet on Thursday lunchtime so we were also able to join in with that.

We decided to travel to the NEC by train which proved to be a good idea as the on-board entertainment on our outward journey provided an excellent start to the day!

We began our day by looking at some of the quilts together, with the intention of separating after lunch to give ourselves the chance to concentrate on our own interests.

I took lots of photographs during the morning but, with apologies to all concerned, I did not take note of any details or makers. The pictures below are in no particular order and, whilst some of them are not to my taste, I have tried to include a cross section to give a flavour of the displays.

This wall hanging fascinates me!

This wall hanging caught my eye

Close-up of the detail of the
wall hanging

Shades of blue

One of the quilts made by a
Primary school

Beautifully stitched dandelions

Bright and vibrant

The banner announcing the location of e
Empress Mills stands

These camels are just SO cute!

One of several garden-themed
quilts we saw

I like the humour in this one

When I look at this photograph it
reminds me of books

Another garden-themed quilt

I really like the different fabrics and
textures in this quilt


This is just a sample of those we viewed. I’ll post some more pictures shortly.

4 thoughts on “Festival of Quilts 2014

Leave a Reply

