Inspiration Came Quickly

Usually it takes me quite a while to come up with an idea for papercrafting. Last year (or was it the year before?), I decided to make all the greetings cards that I needed during the year. I was pleased that I managed to achieve that goal but I haven’t continued it. However, during our return journey from Scotland a few days ago when Peter and I were discussing “thank you” cards for Marianne & John and Andrew & Joy, I offered to make the cards. It seemed right to do make the cards, especially as both couples know that I am a keen crafter.

When I sat down in my craft room to make the cards I pulled out a few plastic wallets containing a selection of papers and an idea immediately sprang into my mind. That’s a very unusual occurrence: normally I struggle to think of ideas. However, I think that the activities I have done as part of the Be Creative weekends and the Summer Journal project, have helped to kickstart my creativity.

Cards made using a selection of
papers and textures

The design of these cards came to mind very quickly. I don’t often work with neutral colours but I am pleased with how they have turned out. I think the colours work well together and are enhanced by the unbleached thread.

In true crafter style, the papers came from various sources including a compliments slip from a fabric shop in Sydney, a scrap of handmade paper that someone gave me because she was unhappy with the way it turned out, two pieces of paper that I marbled during a “play day” that Little Sis and I had when I was staying with her in Somerset a few years ago, a page torn from an old book (which I had coloured using orange juice) and a scrap of  cheap and cheerful paper that I had deliberately marked with rings from the bottom of a mug!

6 thoughts on “Inspiration Came Quickly

Leave a Reply

