This Is Not Going Where You Might Think!

Life has been ‘interesting’ over the last few months. Now, ‘interesting’ can mean all sorts of things, can’t it? Certainly, I am using it in different ways.

In the distant past, namely last August, I became ill and the after-effects of the illness dragged on in such a way that it was difficult to find the energy to do crafting of any sort. What little I managed between August and the end of 2014 I have shared on here. However, it wasn’t merely fatigue that has prevented me from crafting. Oh no! Peter and I have been away on holiday enjoying ourselves. Well, when I say ‘holiday’ I should really add an ‘s’ on the end as we have been bobbing in and out of home for a day or two in between our various trips.

Assorted pink hats for Syrian children

I haven’t been wasting my time on all of the holidays, honestly. When we went to Scotland on a coach trip I knitted these four pink hats for Syrian children. I used a bag of odds and ends of leftover yarn to make them. As usual, I didn’t use a pattern, I simply looked at my knitting and guessed!

The fifth and final pink hat from oddments


The hat above was the fifth hat that I made from the bag of pink oddments. I’m still trying to figure out how I ended up with so many oddments of different colours and shades!

Hats for older Syrian children made
 using recycled yarn


Some time ago I took my granddaughter, Sweetie Pie, to a children’s workshop at the museum in Rawtenstall, Lancashire. The aim of the workshop was to show some different ways in which yarn could be used. Sweetie Pie [not her real name!] and I each had a go on a peg loom and both enjoyed it immensely. Sweetie Pie decided to use her finished piece as a rug in her bedroom but I didn’t ever think of a way to use my piece. When I was looking in our box room my eyes alighted on the woven piece and, thinking of my aim of reducing my stash this year, I decided to reuse the yarn from the weaving for another project. I really liked the maroon and teal together. Not only that but I had used some beautifully soft yarns when I was weaving. The yarns were of varying thicknesses so I decided to use them to make some hats for older Syrian children. I am pleased with how each of them turned out.

More hats for Syria, this time
in teal and blue


Having finished the bag of pink oddments, I decided to take the teal and blue odds and ends when Peter and I travelled to Donegal for a few days. Again, we had a long coach journey in each direction. It is easy to become bored on a coach journey so I always take things with me that I can do on the coach. Making hats is ideal as I don’t need to refer to a pattern. Also, I don’t do the finishing off whilst on holiday due to all the bits and pieces that are needed and which can easily be lost on a coach. So… hats it is! This time I managed to knit five hats of varying sizes. Five hats from one fairly small bag [not even half the size of a carrier bag] of odds and ends – and there’s still enough yarn for another three or four hats! How many half-finished balls of yarn can there be in the world!

Aha! This one’s not going where you think!


Now, this is the one I was referring to in the title of this post. As you can see it is a cream jumper. I have knitted it for my grandson, Treasure, or, if it’s too small, it will be for my other grandson, Precious [again, not their real names!]. So, unusually, this jumper is not going to Syria. Instead it is going to one of my gorgeous grandsons!


In case you haven’t read my blog before, the items that I make for Syrian children are all given to a Manchester-based charity called Syria Relief. The charity transports donated goods directly to Syria, where they are distributed. As well as accepting goods, Syria Relief welcome cash donations: you may even choose which project you would like your money allocated to. If you would like to donate cash, this link will take you directly to the relevant page on their website. If you would like to donate goods, you may telephone Syria Relief on 0161 860 0163.

8 thoughts on “This Is Not Going Where You Might Think!

  1. The teal and blue hats turned out so well. One might even think that you followed a pattern to get this lovely colour combinations. I am sure Treasure or Precious will absolutely love this cream jumper, especially knowing that Grandma made it.

    Like

  2. I think what helps when I make these “odds and ends” hats, is that I use two strands (using two different yarns) and simply change each strand whenever it runs out. In that way, the colours seem to blend fairly well.

    Like

  3. I used to be dreadfully ill on coaches, buses or in the back of a car, and still am if I don't use my travel bands. However, by using them, I can knit, sew, crochet and read to my heart's content.

    Like

  4. I love the blue hats, Dina, and you have so much patience. I'm wondering how you learned to knit without a pattern. Maybe its experience and confidence? I wish I wasn't tied to patterns. I must lear to freestyle knit.

    Like

  5. Thanks, Julie. I'll let you into a secret: the reason I don't use a pattern for the hats is because I was too lazy to find one when I knitted my first hat, so I decided to guess how to do it. The beauty of knitting them for Syria Relief, or any other charity, is that you don't have to knit a certain size, so it's fine to guess! I just look at what I'm knitting and think that either it will or won't be large enough!

    Like

Leave a Reply

