Being Creative Sometimes Needs A Bit Of A Nudge

An elephant playing amazing games with its 'toy' at Taronga Zoo in Sydney

An elephant playing amazing games with its ‘toy’ at Taronga Zoo in Sydney

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I need a bit of a nudge to get going, creatively. That’s the main reason I joined the creativity group that Myfanwy Hart set up on Facebook. Originally called “Be Creative” the name has now been changed to “Be Creatively”. There are now more than 800 members – that’s an awful lot of creativity!

The series entitled "Windows Of My Mind"

The series entitled “Windows Of My Mind”

From time to time, Myfanwy organises optional swaps of postcards and of Artist’s Trading Cards and the latest of these have recently taken place. My main postcard swap partner was Elizabeth, but I also had three other ‘swappees’ (hmm, I wonder if that’s a proper word?). I created the above series of four postcards – well, more accurately, they evolved once I began playing with pieces of paper! I didn’t make any conscious choices of which card went to whom but each recipient received a sheet with photographs of all four card and of the reverse of the cards, together with these brief descriptions of each card.

Fractured Thinking card

Fractured Thinking card

The first in the series is “Fractured Thinking” – sometimes it can be difficult to stop the mind jumping from one thing to another. This card was made on the reverse of one advertising an art exhibition in Sydney, NSW.

The Usual Paths

The Usual Paths

The second is “The Usual Paths” – all of us, at some time or another, think the same old thoughts, being unable to move from the well-trodden paths. This is on the reverse of an image of one of the sculptures on the Irwell Sculpture Trail.

Going Around in Circles

Going Around in Circles

Number three is “Going Around in Circles” – when trying to solve a problem our thoughts can go round and round. The reverse of this card is one of Turner’s works.

Space To Think

Space To Think

The final one in the series is “Space to Think” – there is a tiny space near the centre of the card with nothing covering it: a space to think. The reverse of this is an image of another of the pieces on the Irwell Sculpture Trail.

The reverse of the four cards

The reverse of the four cards

3 thoughts on “Being Creative Sometimes Needs A Bit Of A Nudge

  1. You are so productive Dina. I love the idea of a series of postcards. The one I like best is ‘going around in circles’ – one look at the card and I’m wanting to do something similar, and probably because I’m always walking around in circles too. I want to be a swappee too (I wonder how many people have to use the word before it’s official – maybe it already is).

    Like

Leave a Reply

