Alert! Alert!

Guess who’s a lert. Yep, that’s right – Bossymamma!

Two pairs of shorts made for Syrian children

Two pairs of shorts made for Syrian children

In my last post I mentioned that I had only managed to make three pairs of shorts from the front fabric of the blue duvet cover I had been cutting up. Doh! What a ninny! The three pairs of shorts were made from strips of fabric cut from that front, so I hadn’t used all of it. I don’t know why, but I completely overlooked the remaining large piece of fabric that was beneath the box I keep all my elastic in. Consequently, I am still in shorts-making mode.

An envious, rather than enviable, bunny

An envious, rather than enviable, bunny

At the moment, when I’m not sewing, if I’m crafting I am crocheting bunnies. I have moved on from the sausage-shaped bunnies I had been crocheting. I am now making this design from The Green Dragonfly. If you look on her site, you will see that she has several free crochet patterns, including some cute animals/toys. I rather liked the design of the Easter Bunnies as I think it’s a good shape for a child to hold.

Three little bunnies, all in a row

Three little bunnies, all in a row

I decided not to include the pompom tail, for two reasons. Firstly, I think having a pompom tail would make the bunnies more difficult to squash for transportation purposes: I am trying to make small toys that will not take up much space in the container that aid to Syria is shipped in. Secondly, I was a little concerned about how safe or robust a pompom would be.

You may wonder why I am making toys, at all, when the Syrian people need basic day-to-day items. Well, education is incredibly hard to come by in Syria so there is a virtually an entire generation that is being deprived of the freedom to learn in any formal sense. From what I can gather from various sources, Syrian children have very little to play with and play is such an important tool for learning in the young. I decided to make some small toys so that they can have something to call their own which will, I hope, spur them on to use their imagination. OK, so cuddly toys aren’t the most educational toys, but, in addition to that stimulation, they may provide a little comfort to children who have no choice but to endure that terrible conflict.

Perhaps my little bunnies will help a few of those children feel a bit “hoppier”. I certainly hope so.

Three little bunnies, who will soon be hopping off to Syria.

Three little bunnies, who will soon be hopping off to Syria.

3 thoughts on “Alert! Alert!

  1. Pingback: Alert! Alert! « Bossymamma's Ramblings

Leave a Reply

