Look What I’ve Got!

image

This week is posting week in the 7th Very Berry Handmade ATC Swap!

Yesterday lunchtime I heard the reassuring thud of ‘happy mail’ landing…

All tied up with a pretty pink ribbon

All tied up with a pretty pink ribbon

My envelope was from France. As I turned it over I saw part of the address and guessed immediately who it was from: Carole, otherwise known as Craftylagare! She and I are online acquaintances and have been in occasional contact for quite some time. I’m not entirely sure, but we may have ‘met’ during one of the earliest ATC swaps organised by Ali of Very Berry Handmade. Returning to the envelope… As soon as I guessed who had sent it I had a huge grin on my face. I had seen a picture of the ATC she had made on the ATC swap Flickr group so I already knew what it was like. However, I didn’t know it was going to be so prettily packaged.

Slowly revealing all...

Slowly revealing all…

First, I slipped off the pretty pink grosgrain ribbon.

A lovely little hedgehog was hidden behind the ATC

A lovely little hedgehog was hidden behind the ATC

Next, I took the ATC and the postcard out of their cellophane wrapper. Aren’t the two hedgehogs sweet?

Carole's 'favourite', her little cat

Carole’s ‘favourite’, her little cat

Then I could study the beautiful black cat that Carole had stitched. I love that Carole used various media in the card: the background is fabric, the cat and daffodil are felt and the butterfly is paper, plus the buttons, of course.

A novel way of backing an Artist's Trading Card

A novel way of backing an Artist’s Trading Card

When I turned the card over I could see the novel way in which Carole had constructed it: she made the ATC and backing into a cover, into which she slipped some card, for stability. As you can see, she edged the open ‘window’ with gingham ribbon. It never ceases to amaze me how clever people are at incorporating various elements into their designs!

The card that I made for the swap, below, has been posted today. I hope the recipient likes it as much as I like the one I received from Carole.

image

2 thoughts on “Look What I’ve Got!

  1. It feels extra special to receive a card from a person you know in some ways. It’s a cute little card and I like Carole’s idea of the back pocket. Ali’s swaps are great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

